top of page
  • Writer's pictureC.J

ESCAPRIL DAY ONE - change of state

I am a pick-me player screen, hovering

in place whilst you make your decision.

Character design means nothing when

there are enemies to fight so just choose

what you find most attractive and advance

to the next part. A glitch sends you back

to the beginning and there I am again, in stasis,

unblinking,

waiting for my time to come at your hands.

Rotate me,

examine me from every angle until all I am is pixels.

As technology advances maybe I'll get the chance

to be real, or real-like,

or real-enough, but until then

my fate remains hinged on the start button.

Your cursor hovers, and you exit the

game.



 

It's that time of year again folks! Escapril is my favourite writing challenge and it makes April so productive for me.


I won't be sharing every poem on my blog this year (I say, as if I've done that before), but I will be sharing them on my Instagram stories. Additionally, I'll be posting a video of me performing each poem every day over on my Patreon!


I'd love to read your takes on the prompts - respond in the comments!


~ C

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page